1. News » 
  2. International » 
  3. Russia bans entry for 9 Canadian citizens

Russia bans entry for 9 Canadian citizens

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced that nine Canadian citizens have been banned from entering the country "in response to the illegal sanctions" imposed by the Ottawa government.

Updated Jun 08, 2021 06:00 AM

Russia bans entry for 9 Canadian citizens

"In response to the illegal sanctions imposed by the Canadian government on March 24 against citizens of Russia under the far-fetched pretext of allegedly persecuting Russian citizen Alexei Navalny, convicted of illegal acts, it was decided to ban the entry to Russia on an indefinite basis for the following persons holding Canadian citizenship," the Ministry said in a statement on Monday.

The banned citizens include Canada's Justice Minister and Attorney General David Lametti, Commissioner of the Correctional Service Anne Kelly, Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Brenda Lucki, among others, reports Xinhua news agency.

The Ministry said Canada continues to support an anti-Russian agenda on the international arena, adding that the banned citizens were involved in pursuing this course.

It added that while Canada's actions led to the deterioration of bilateral ties, Russia remains open to developing a "relationship on the basis of mutual respect".

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-Media