1. News » 
  2. Sports » 
  3. ISL: Jeje, Balwant in 22-member Indian squad of East Bengal

ISL: Jeje, Balwant in 22-member Indian squad of East Bengal - Panaji News

Panaji, Oct 21 (IANS) SC East Bengal have announced a 22-member domestic squad for the upcoming 2020-2021 Indian Super League (ISL) season.

Updated Oct 21, 2020 03:48 AM

ISL: Jeje, Balwant in 22-member Indian squad of East Bengal - Panaji News

Bolstered by the star power of India forward Jeje Lalpekhlua, the squad comprises the likes of seasoned India players Balwant Singh, Narayan Das, Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Md. Rafique among others.

"Every footballer in India wants to play for East Bengal one day. It is such a big institution. I am thrilled to join East Bengal in its first year of taking part in the ISL," Jeje said.

"I am hungry to play football again after a prolonged break due to injury. I cannot wait to don the red and gold colours and give my best every time I take the field," he added.

Balwant, 33, spent the last two seasons with ATK making a total of 23 league appearances for the club.

"I don't have to emphasise how big SC East Bengal club is. It's indeed an honour to be wearing the famous Red and Gold jersey. I will give my 100% to bring success and glory to the club and happiness to all its super passionate fans," said Balwant.

Narayan played all 18 matches for Odisha FC last season. He last played for India in the Asian Cup.

Lyngdoh, 34, had stints with ATK after signing for the reigning ISL champions in the 2017-18 season. The Meghalaya-born midfielder had to spend most of the time on the bench nursing a ruptured Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) on his left knee.

Indian squad:

Goalkeepers: Sankar Roy, Debjit Majumder, Md. Rafique Ali Sardar, Mirshad Kootapunna

Defenders: Gurtej Singh, Narayan Das, Samad Ali Mallick, Lalram Chullova, Mohammed Irshad, N Rohen Singh, Abhishek Ambekar, Rana Gharami

Midfielders: Sehnaj Singh, Bikash Jairu, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Yumnam Gopi Singh, Wahengbam Angousana, Md. Rafique, Moirangthem Loken Meitei, Surchandra Singh Chandam

Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Balwant Singh.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by FreshersLIVE.Publisher : IANS-Media