Hindu Calendar 2021: Check Full List of Hindu Festivals Calendar 2021, Hindu Festivals and Fasting days in year 2021

by Priyanka S | Updated Jan 25, 2021 05:13 AM

social social social social Hindu Calendar 2021: Check Full List of Hindu Festivals Calendar 2021, Hindu Festivals and Fasting days in year 2021

What is the Hindu Calendar 2021? Based on the Hindu Festivals Calendar 2021,in our country every region and religion of India has its own set of festivals to be observed and celebrated with great deeds of deities, gurus, heroes and saints. Some of these festivals are celebrated according to religious belief and customs. Holi, Diwali, Independence Day and Eid-ul-fitr are some of the major festivals in India. Do you know the month and date of all the festivals? If no, then check our Hindu Festival Calendar. Scroll down to read more about Hindu festival 2021 month, day and date, Hindu calendar 2021, Hindu calendar 2021. Also, check the Hindu festival list 2021.

Hindu Festival Calendar 2021

Hindu Calendar 2021 is a conventional method to measure time. With the change in the regional face of India, the Hindu Calendar has been changed and updated every now and then. Particularly to the various regions of the country, there are several variations in the Hindu Calendar which are in use. Apart from the names of the twelve months, every Hindu Calendar differs a bit from each other. The calendar is created from both solar and lunisolar calendars. Here is a standard version of the Hindu Calendar that is used as the National Calendar in India. This calendar marks important festivals and holidays. The name of the months and their corresponding Zodiac signs are Chaitra (Aries), Vaisakha (Taurus), Jyaistha (Gemini), Asadha (Cancer), Sravana (Leo), Bhadrapada (Virgo), Asvina (Libra), Kartika (Scorpio), Agrahayana (Sagittarius), Pausa (Capricorn), Magha (Aquarius) and Phalguna (Pisces). astrologers use Panchang or Panchangam (Hindu Calendar based on Lunar Calendar) to fix the marriage date and provide auspicious muhurat after horoscope matching is done.
 

List of Hindu Festival 2021

Here is the complete list of Hindu festival Calendar for the year 2021.

DAY DATE Hindu Festival 2021
Thursday Jan 14, 2021 Makarsankranti / Pongal
Thursday Jan 28, 2021 Thaipusam
Tuesday Feb 16, 2021 Vasant Panchami
Thursday Mar 11, 2021 Maha Shivaratri
Sunday Mar 28, 2021 Holika Dahan
Monday Mar 29, 2021 Holi
Friday Apr 02, 2021 Ramanavami
Monday Apr 12, 2021 Hindi New Year
Tuesday Apr 13, 2021 Ugadi / Gudi Padwa / Telugu New Year
Wednesday Apr 14, 2021 Vaisakhi / Baisakhi / Vishu
Wednesday Apr 14, 2021 Tamil New Year
Thursday Apr 15, 2021 Bengali New Year / Bihu
Tuesday Apr 27, 2021 Hanuman Jayanti
Friday May 14, 2021 Akshaya Tritiya
Thursday Jun 10, 2021 Savitri Pooja
Monday Jul 12, 2021 Puri Rath Yatra
Saturday Jul 24, 2021 Guru Purnima
Friday Aug 13, 2021 Nag Panchami
Friday Aug 20, 2021 Varalakshmi Vrat
Saturday Aug 21, 2021 Onam
Sunday Aug 22, 2021 Raksha Bandhan
Monday Aug 30, 2021 Krishna Janmashtami
Friday Sep 10, 2021 Ganesh Chaturthi
Friday Sep 17, 2021 Vishwakarma Puja
Wednesday Oct 06, 2021 Navaratri begins
Wednesday Oct 06, 2021 Mahalaya Amavasya
Thursday Oct 14, 2021 Navaratri ends / Maha Navami
Friday Oct 15, 2021 Dusshera
Tuesday Oct 19, 2021 Sharad Purnima
Tuesday Nov 02, 2021 Dhan Teras
Thursday Nov 04, 2021 Diwali
Saturday Nov 06, 2021 Bhai Dooj
Thursday Nov 11, 2021 Chhath Puja
Friday Nov 19, 2021 Kartik Poornima
Wednesday Nov 24, 2021 Karwa Chauth
Sunday Dec 12, 2021 Dhanu Sankranti
Tuesday Dec 14, 2021 Geeta Jayanti

 

List of Hindu Festival 2020

Know all the Hindu calendar 2020 month, day and dates below:

Day Date Holiday
Wednesday Jan 15, 2020 Makarsankranti / Pongal
Wednesday  Jan 29, 2020 Vasant Panchami
Saturday Feb 8, 2020 Thaipusam
Friday Feb 21, 2020 Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 9, 2020 Holika Dahan
Tuesday March 10, 2020 Holi
Wednesday March 25, 2020 Ugadi / Gudi Padwa / Telugu New Year
Wednesday March 25, 2020 Hindi New Year
Thursday April 2, 2020 Ramanavami
Wednesday April 8, 2020 Hanuman Jayanti
Tuesday April 14, 2020 Vaisakhi / Baisakhi / Vishu
Tuesday April 14, 2020  Bengali New Year / Bihu
Tuesday April 14, 2020 Tamil New Year
Sunday April 26, 2020 Akshaya Tritiya
Friday May 22, 2020  Savitri Pooja
Tuesday June 23, 2020 Puri Rath Yatra
Sunday July 5, 2020 Guru Purnima
Saturday July 25, 2020 Nag Panchami
Friday July 31, 2020 Varalakshmi Vrat
Monday Aug 3, 2020 Raksha Bandhan
Tuesday Aug 11, 2020 Krishna Janmashtami
Saturday Aug 22, 2020 Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday Aug 31, 2020 Onam
Wednesday Sep 16, 2020 Vishwakarma Puja
Thursday Sept 17, 2020 Mahalaya Amavasya
Saturday Oct 24, 2020 Navaratri ends / Maha Navami
Sunday Oct 25. 2020 Dusshera
Friday Oct 30 2020 Sharad Purnima
Wednesday Nov 4, 2020 Karwa Chauth
Saturday Nov 14, 2020 Diwali
Friday Nov 20, 2020  Chhath Puja
Monday Now 30, 2020 Kartik Poornima
Tuesday Dec 15, 2020 Dhanu Sankranti
Friday Dec 25 2020 Geeta Jayanti

Top Five Hindu Festival 2020

We have come up with some detailed info on five Hindu festivals

Makarsankranti / Pongal

Makarsankranti is also known as Pongal and is majorly celebrated in India by Indians and Hindus. The festival is also celebrated all around the world and marks a religious celebration that falls during the winters when the sun shifts thus leading to longer days. The day is also known as Maghi which depicts the harvest festival, and is dedicated to the Sun God - Surya. The festival is mostly celebrated on January 14, but in some exceptional cases, it falls on January 15. The year 2020 marked Makarsankranti on January 15.

The festival is celebrated by flying beautiful and colourful kites. In Gujarat, kite flying is organized as part of the festivities. The famous traditional food prepared are: Sesame and jaggery laddoos and chikkis and are popularly known as Tilgud.

The festival is also known as Uttarayan in many parts of the country. Pongal is the celebration of the harvest festival and is called by many names. The north Indian Hindus and Sikhs call it Maghi which is preceded by Lohri. It is called Makara Sankranti in Maharashtra, Goa, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka and Telangana, Poush songkranti in Sukarat in central India, Magh Bihu by Assamese, and Thai Pongal or Pongal by Tamils.

Holi

Holi is the festival of Colors. Holi is also called the "festival of love" when people unite together. This festival starts in the evening of Purnima or the Full Moon Day in the month of Falgun and lasts for a day. Holika Dahan or Choti Holi is celebrated on the first evening of the festival, and the following day is celebrated as Holi. This year the festival was celebrated on March 10, 2020

The ritual starts by lighting up a bonfire a day before Holi, and this celebration symbolizes that always kindness and pure spirits wins over evil. People on this day play with colors, pichkaris, water and water-filled balloons with family and friends. The most famous delicacy prepared on this day are Ladoos and Bhang.

Krishna Janmashtami

Krishna Janmashtami is the celebration of the birth of Lord Krishna. It is believed that on this day, Lord Krishna was born midnight at sharp twelve. To celebrate Krishna's birth, devotees observe a fast and sing devotional songs. As a part of the ritual, statues of baby Krishna are washed and worshipped. This year Krishna Janmashtami was celebrated on August 11, 2020.

This is the largest celebration of Hindu's and popularly celebrated in Mathura and Vrindavan, where Lord Krishna was born and spent his childhood. Lord Krishna is also known as Makhan Chor or Navneet Chor, as it is believed that Krishna loved eating Makhan ( butter).

Janmashtami is celebrated with a ritual called Dahi Handi. In Dahi Handi, people form pyramids mostly made of 9-tiers by participants called Govinda's and includes a young boy who climbs the top of the pyramid and breaks the earthen clay pot, which hangs at the height of over 20 feet.

Ganesh Chaturthi

Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated to mark the birth of Lord Ganesha, who is the God of new beginnings. According to the Hindu calendar, Ganesh Chaturthi falls in the month of Bhadra. It is a very popular festival in Maharashtra. It is a ten-day celebration where Lord Ganesha is considered the symbol of wisdom, writing, travel, commerce, and good fortune. He is also known as Gajanana, Ganesh, Gajadant and has 108 names. This ten-day festival started on August 22, 2020.

Many Offerings are placed in front of the Ganesha idol, including modak, shrikhand, payasam, coconut rice, motichoor laddoo, and other sweets. Special and huge pandals are set up for Ganesh Chaturthi, where devotees unite and pray for good fortune and well-being.

Dusshera

Dussehra, also known as Dasara or Vijayadashami by Hindu's, denotes the victory of Rama, a symbol of Vishnu, over the 10-headed evil presence of lord Ravana, who snatched Rama's better half, Sita. The name of the festival has been derived from the Sanskrit words Dasha ("ten") and hara ("defeat"). This year, Dusshera was celebrated on October 25, 2020.

In North India, the festival is celebrated with a Ram Lila, an event depicting God Ram's biography. On this day, huge puppets of Ravana, Meghnada (Ravana's child), and Kumbhkarana (Ravana's sibling) are loaded down with sparklers and set on fire in the in open fields after the sunsets. Dussehra corresponds with the nine-day Navratri celebration summit and with the 10th day of the Durga Puja celebration.

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only. All information on the Site is provided in good faith, however we make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on the Site.

Hindu Calendar 2021 - FAQs

1.   What is a Hindu calendar?

Every region and religion of India has its own set of festivals to be observed and celebrated great deeds of deities, gurus, heroes and saints. Some of these festivals are celebrated according to religious belief and customs. Holi, Diwali, Independence Day and Eid-ul-fitr are some of the major festivals in India.

2.  What is the origin of the Hindu calendar 2021 ?

Hindu Calendar is a traditional method to measure time. With the change in the regional face of India, the Hindu Calendar has been changed and modified from time to time. Specific to the various regions of the country, there are several variations in the Hindu Calendar which are in use.

3. What is the current Hindu year?

As per the Hindu Calendar, every year starts with a different phase in comparison with the English Calendar. The Hindu Calendar gives many facts about the festivals and their timings in a Good Way. As per the Hindu Calendar, the current Hindu year is 2076.

4. Is Hindu calendar lunar or solar?

The Hindu calendar is a lunar calendar because it is based on the cycles of the Moon. In a purely lunar calendar, months move forward by about 11 days every solar year.

5. When does Thaipusam fall in 2021?

Thaipusam 2021 falls on  28 Jannuary 2021.


Trending News