1. News » 
  2. INDIA » 
  3. Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021. Know All The Central Govt Holiday List 2021, Central Govt Holiday Home, and More

Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021. Know All The Central Govt Holiday List 2021, Central Govt Holiday Home, and More

Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021: Every year The Government of India releases a new list of holidays and these holidays are classified as a list of gazetted holidays 2020 in central government, central government holiday list 2020 and more. The central government also has a list of homes and hotels to stay in and the Central Government holiday list 2020-2021 for central government employees, is given in this article. Also, information like Central Government holidays list 2020-2021, gazetted holidays 2020 in central government, list of gazetted holidays 2021 in central government,list of holiday homes for central government employees. To know the Central Government holiday List 2020-2021, detailed information scroll down.

by Niranjani Jesentha K | Updated Feb 02, 2021 11:39 AM

Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021. Know All The Central Govt Holiday List 2021, Central Govt Holiday Home, and More

Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021 For You

The gazetted holiday is a holiday which is said by the government to be a mandatory holiday, which means that the holiday must be observed by schools, banks, and typically many employers as well. The restricted holidays are optional holidays, which is the discretion of the employee whether they are willing to take leave on that particular day or not. The list of gazetted holidays for the year 2021 is given below. 

List of Gazetted Holidays 2021 In New Delhi Government

The Gazetted Holidays are the mandatory holidays by the Central Government that every organisation is supposed to strictly follow. Below list is the Gazetted holidays for the year 2021 

Holiday Date Day
Republic Day 26 January 2021 Tuesday
Holi 29 March 2021 Monday
Good Friday 2 April 2021 Friday
Ram Navami 21 April 2021 Wednesday
Mahavir Jayanti 25 April 2021 Sunday
Id-ul-Fitr 14 May 2021 Friday
Budha Purnima 26 May 2021 Wednesday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 21 July 2021 Wednesday
Independence Day 15 August 2021 Sunday
Muharram 19 August 2021 Thursday
Janmashtami 30 August 2021 Monday
Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02 October 2021 Saturday
Dussehra 15 October 2021 Friday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad [Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) 19 October 2021 Tuesday
Diwali (Deepavali) 04 November 2021 Thursday
Guru Nanak’s Birthday 19 November 2021 Friday
Christmas Day 25 December 2021 Saturday

List Of Holiday Homes For Central Government Employees

These Holidays homes are under the central government and it is exclusively only for the government employees. Government employees who are willing to book rooms in one of these hotels can visit the central government holiday home.nic.in THis is their official website that allows the staff to book the home.

State & No. of Holiday Homes/Touring Officer’s Hostels/Guest Houses Holiday homes (HH)/Touring officers’ hostel (TOH) Location & Address Capacity (total Rooms Whether under online booking or not









 

Uttar Pradesh

HH Sikandra, Agra 14 Yes
TOH Kar-Kunj Agra 4 No
TOH Sanjay Place, Agra 3 Yes
TOH Mahatma Gandhi Marg Allahabad 4 Yes
HH Sector-K, Aliganj, Lucknow 22 Yes
TOH Deen Dayal Puram,Bareilly 4 Yes
TOH Chandmari, Lamhi, Varanasi 4 Yes











 

Rajasthan

HH Agra Gate, Ajmer 42 Yes
HH Vidhyadhar Nagar Jaipur 46 Yes
HH Bera Road ,Jaisalmer 13 Yes
TOH West Patel Nagar, Circuit House Road,Jodhpur 4 Yes
TOH Delwara Road,Distt. Sirohi, Mount Abu 4 Yes
HH Sector — 14, near C.A. Circle, Udaipur 15 Yes
 

Goa

HH Bambolim, Panji Road, Goa 13 Yes
TOH Panaji-Madgaon Road Goa 8 Yes


 

Punjab

TOH Ram Tirath Nagar,Amritsar 2 No
TOH Madhopur 4 Yes
TOH Sector 7B Chandigarh 20 Yes


 

Tamilnadu

HH Koodalpudur, Anaiyur (PO) Madurai 20 Yes
HH Kovalam Road Kanyakumari 22 Yes
HH Udagamandalam, Nilgiris Ooty 25 Yes
 

Madras

TOH Shashtri Bhawan, Chennai 10 Yes
TOH Rajaji Bhawan,Chennai 20 Yes
 

Karnataka

HH T. Narasipur Road, Sidhartha Nagar Mysore 44 Yes





 

Andhra Pradesh

TOH Domlur,Bangalore 2 No
TOH Koramangala, Bangalore 39 Yes
HH IS Mahal Road, Nehru Nagar, Tirupati 54 Yes
TOH Autonagar , Vijayawada 6 Yes


 

Telangana

TOH Koti Nirman Bhawan ,Hyderabad 8 Yes
TOH Kawadi Guda , Hyderabad 7 Yes




 

Uttrakhand

HH Southwood Cottage, ITBP Campus Mussoorie 5 Yes
TOH Landaur Bazar , Mussoorie 4 No
HH Khurpatal Nainital 13 Yes
TOH Subhash Chowk, (Near Clock Tower-Paltan Bazar), Dehradun 12 Yes
 

Himachal Pradesh

HH Mall Road, Grand Hotel, Shimla 120 Yes
TOH ITBP Camp, Baweli Kullu 3 No
Andaman & Nicobar HH Ranchi Basti, Lamba Line Portblair 15 Yes





 

Kerala

TOH Pulleppady, Kathrikkadavu Cochin 21 Yes
TOH Poonkulam Vellyani , Trivendrum 9 Yes
TOH Dutt Saw Mill Road, Kallai (PO), Kozhikode Calicut 5 Yes





 

Delhi

HH West Kidwai Nagar, Delhi 20 Yes
TOH Curzon Road, Delhi 47 Yes
TOH Aliganj, Delhi 20 No
TOH HUDCO Place, Delhi 10 Yes
TOH Asia House, Delhi 30 Yes




 

Gujrat

TOH Sector — 6/D, Near Civil Hospital,Gandhi Nagar 5 Yes
TOH Sector — 6/D, Near Civil Hospital,Gandhi Nagar 6 Yes


 

Sikkim

HH (Near Zero Point and Vajra Cinema Hall) , Gangtok 15 Yes
TOH Near Zero Point, Gangtok 8 No


 

Assam

TOH Narangi Road Guwahati (Main Building) 7 Yes
TOH Narangi Road Guwahati (Hostel Block) 4 Yes


 

Meghalaya

TOH Dhankheti, CPWD, Office Residential Complex 6 Yes
  Shillong    




 

Madhya Pradesh

TOH City Centre, Gwalior 2 No
HH Near Nain Narmada Temple, Amarkantak 70 No
  (at the disposal of MPTDC on lease basis)    
TOH Daskhina Maidan Neemuch 2 No
 

J&K

TOH Satwari Gantt, Jammu 10 Yes
TOH Dhar Road,Udhampur 2 No


 

West Bengal

TOH Acharya J.C. Bose Road Kolkata 56 Yes
TOH Nirman Bhawan, 4 Yes
  Matigara,Siliguri    








 

Maharashtra

TOH Church Gate Mumbai 11 Yes
TOH Hyderabad Estates, Mumbai 36 Yes
TOH Antop Hills, Mumbai 5 No
TOH Seminary Hills, Bungalow No.3 Nagpur 14 Yes
TOH Gandhi Nagar Nasik 4 Yes
TOH Mukund Nagar Pune 3 Yes
Bihar HH Digha, Patna 28 Yes

Central Govt Holiday List 2021

  1. REPUBLIC DAY

  2.  INDEPENDENCE DAY

  3.  MAHATMA GANDHI’S BIRTHDAY

  4.  BUDDHA PURNIMA

  5.  CHRISTMAS DAY

  6.  DUSSEHRA (VIJAY DASHMI)

  7.  DIWALI (DEEPAVALI)

  8.  GOOD FRIDAY

  9.  GURU NANAK’S BIRTHDAY

  10. IDU’L FITR

  11.  IDU’L ZUHA

  12.  MAHAVIR JAYANTI

  13.  MUHARRAM

  14. PROPHET MOHAMMAD’S BIRTHDAY (ID-E-MILAD)

  15.  AN ADDITIONAL DAY FOR DUSSEHRA

  16.  HOLI

  17.  JANAMASHTAMI (VAISHNAVI)

  18.  RAM NAVAMI

  19.  MAHA SHIVRATRI

  20.  GANESH CHATURTHI VINAYAK CHATURTHI

  21.  MAKAR SANKARANTI

  22.  RATH YATRA

  23.  ONAM

  24.  PONGAL

  25.  SRI PANCHAMI I BASANT PANCHAMI

  26. VISHU/ VAISAKHI/ VAISAKHADI / BHAG BIHU/ MASHADI UGADI/ CHAITRA SUKLADI/ CHETI CHAND/ GUDI PADAVA/1st NAVRATRA/ NAORAZ/ CHHATH POOJA/ KARVA CHAUTH.

List Of Gazetted Holidays 2020 In Central Government

Event  Day and Date Holiday Type
New Year’s Day Wed 01-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Thu 02-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Lohri Mon 13-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Makar Sankranti Wed 15-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Pongal Wed 15-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Republic Day Sat 26-Jan-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Basant Panchmi Wed 29-Jan-2020 Restricted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Jayanti Sun 09-Feb-2020 Restricted Holiday
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Tue 18-Feb-2020 Restricted Holiday
Mahashivratri Fri 21-Feb-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Losar Mon 24-Feb-2020 Restricted Holiday
Holi Tue 10-Mar-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Rama Navami Thur 02-Apr-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti  Mon 06-Apr-2020 Restricted Holiday
Good Friday Fri 10-Apr-2020 Public Holiday
Easter Day Sun 12-Apr-2020 Restricted Holiday
Vaisakhi (Vishu) Mon 13-Apr-2020 Restricted Holiday
Event / Festival Day / Date Holiday Type
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 07-May-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Fri 08-May-2020 Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Sun 24-May-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 07-May-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Fri 08-May-2020 Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Sun 24-May-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Rath Yatra Tue 23-Jun-2020  Gazetted Holiday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) Sat 01-Aug-2020 Restricted Holiday
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Mon 03-Aug-2020 Restricted Holiday
Janmashtami (Vaishnav) Wed 12-Aug-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Independence Day Sat 15-Aug-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraz) Sun 16-Aug-2020 Public Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi Sat 22-Aug-2020 Restricted Holiday
Onam Sat 22-Aug-2020 Restricted Holiday
Muharram (Ashura) Sun 30-Aug-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Gandhi Jayanti Fri 02-Oct-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Kongali Bihu Sun 18-Oct-2020 Restricted Holiday
Dussehra Sun 25-Oct-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e- Milad Fri 30-Oct-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Valmiki Jayanti Sat 31-Oct-2020 Restricted Holiday
Karva Chauth Wed 04-Nov-2020 Restricted Holiday
Diwali Sat 14-Nov-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Govardhan Puja Sun 15-Nov-2020 Restricted Holiday
Bhai Dooj Mon 16-Nov-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Chhath Puja Fri 20-Nov-2020 Restricted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Mon 30-Nov-2020 Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Wed 25-Dec-2020 Public Holiday

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only. All information on the Site is provided in good faith, however we make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on the Site.

Central Government Holiday List 2020-2021 - FAQs

1. How many gazetted holidays are there in India?How many gazetted holidays are there in India?

There might be more then 18 Gazetted holidays  

2. What is the meaning of the gazetted holiday?  

The gazetted holiday is a holiday that is said by the government to be mandatory. So, gazetted holiday means that the holiday must be observed by schools, banks, and typically many employers observe the holiday as well.

3. What is the Restricted Holiday? 

The restricted holiday also called the Optional Holiday, is a holiday that is optional, and it is the discretion of the employee whether they want to take leave on that particular day or not.

4. How many restricted holidays can be taken in a year?  

Besides the three National Holidays, employees are entitled to 14 Gazetted and 2 Restricted holidays every year.

5. Why public holidays are important?  

Public holidays are important as they have significance in the history of a nation, and remind us of the importance of these days, guiding the generation about the values and messages associated with these days.